Just Say No!

Selfishness-620x309

How many times have you done something  that you did not want to do just to please someone else?  I have.  Then I had to ask myself why was I putting someone  else’s needs above mine.  Of course I do this for my good friends and family, but in these instances they always return the favor.  What about those times when you put aside the things you want to do just to do something for someone else.  I am not saying that you should never do it, but you should not feel guilty about saying no.

I have suffered from the problem of not saying no for many years.  I always felt that if I did not want to do something for someone else or if I did not have the time to do it I had to come up with some elaborate explanation.  After providing an explanation or excuse I would feel so guilty for not doing what was asked of me.  In reality I didn’t owe anyone an explanation.  Just saying no is perfectly fine.

What I would like to challenge all of us to do is to give ourselves permission to say no.  It is okay to make the things you want a priority.  You don’t need to make excuses for saying no.  It is your right.  If the only reason you have is that you just don’t want to that reason is good enough.

George Sand

“Nothing resembles selfishness more closely than self-respect”
― George SandIndiana

Oscar Wilde

“Selfishness is not living as one wishes to live, it is asking others to live as one wishes to live.”
― Oscar Wilde

Veronica Roth

“…selflessness and bravery aren’t all that different. All your life you’ve been training to forget yourself, so when you’re in danger, it becomes your first instinct.”
― Veronica RothDivergent
3 thoughts on “Just Say No!

    • Absolutely! The last thing we need to do is search for different ways to feel bad about ourselves. It is great to do things for other people,but not at your own expense. There are tons of other people who are available and willing to help when we are unable to, but each person has only one life to live and we all should enjoy it.

      Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

