Frankie Says Relax

Full-Relaxation.jpgf_-610x225

Frankie says relax and so do I.  I choose, like most people, to really take it easy on Sundays.  Sometimes I go to church and sometimes I don’t.  The point of my relaxation day is not to put any unnecessary pressure on myself.  I look for things that are just purely pleasurable.  Since I work from home, I do not have a typical workweek and unstructured hours, so I don’t have the dread of Mondays that goes along with working for someone else.  I do remember those days and I found it was very difficult to relax on Sunday when thinking about the impending workweek.  I still have deadlines, meetings, and any other obligation that goes along with having a job, but I have to manage my time a bit differently.  What I have learned to do is make it as pleasurable as possible.

I love my job, but there are times when it really feels like work.  I try my best to avoid these feelings.  When I start feeling like I don’t want to do what I really need to do I try my best to turn it around.  I have several things that I love and bring me happiness.  I incorporate those things into my day.  I love the smell of lavender, good music, and looking nice.  So when I am feeling sluggish I dab a little lavender oil on my wrists, turn one of my favorite songs, and wear something nice.  These things relax me and they make tedious chores bearable.

If you are fortunate enough to have your Sundays all to yourself, then make that time very special. Plan it out.  Place some time on your calender just to enjoy yourself it it is only for 30 minutes.  Incorporate the things you love into your day.  Enjoy the sensation of being surrounded by pleasurable things.  These things could be spending time with family, sports, or just leisurely going about the day doing absolutely nothing.  Keep those feelings and recall them throughout the week when you feel worn out or worked to the bone to get you through to the next time.

Try this little quiz to see if you are enough time for yourself.  Sometimes the evidence needs to be written out in front of you before you take action.  Don’t worry you don’t have to give your email to get the results.

 

Leave a Reply

