Get it in Where You Can Fit It In

healthyLiving

I truly believe that you can be fit and healthy without doing strangely unnatural things with your body.  I no longer lift weights, run, (unless I have to) or anything else that does not mimic something I do in my everyday life.   The heaviest thing I lift throughout the day may be my son.   I don’t get chased very often, so I only run in short bursts to the mailbox when if I am still wearing my  pajamas and mud mask. It is important for me to find ways to fit exercise in my life in the form of  daily activities.  I do practice Iyengar yoga and I am a huge fan of Pilates because I feel they really prepare the body to handle the everyday wear and tear of life, but to stay in shape and healthy, I focus on clean eating, and exercises that only use my body weight.  This is a personal decision and I have found that it works for me.  I have tried weight-lifting, running, and fad diets, but my body told me that these things were not for me.  After listening to my body’s needs.  I realized that I was needlessly spending money on workout DVDs, protein bars, specialty shakes, and workout equipment (not to mention the all the clutter this accumulation caused).  All it takes is good old common sense.So I started doing exercise that only used my body weight.  These exercises seemed natural to me in ways that bench presses don’t.  Plus, I don’t need all that extra equipment cluttering up my house.

I was killing myself with in the gym, on the track, and sweating in front of my television only to get  minimal short term results.  I often wondered how other people could do exactly the same DVD or workout plan or diet plan and get amazing results.  It was very frustrating until I realized that I may not be like everyone else and that I really needed to get to know myself and figure out what worked for me.

I first looked at my body.  I almost never gained weight in my midsection, but I carried a lot of weight in my thighs even when I was very thin.  I have naturally muscular arms and calves.  I tried to figure out what that meant.  I still don’t know.  I realize that genetics may play a part in it.  I remember my doctor telling me that when you breastfeed women store fat in their thighs.  So I wondered if I had some type of hormonal imbalance as my thighs have always been the fattiest part of my body.  This lead me to look at the things I was putting in and on my body.  So I cut out processed foods, started making my own cosmetic products with natural ingredients (deodorant, lotion, conditioners, etc.) or only using products that used natural ingredients.  I realized that fitness started on the inside.

Once I made these changes the results were immediate.  My skin cleared, I actually started to lose weight, and I felt amazing.  I am still a work in progress, but I feel that I have finally found a way to work toward maintaining a healthy lifestyle.  I do not have a plan to share that I can guarantee that will work and neither does anyone else, but what I can do is point you in the right direction.

This is what I did:

  • Listen to my body — I started a journal and documented my mood, cravings, and skin and weight changes
  • Researched reasons for those particular feelings, cravings, etc.
  • Used only natural ingredients in my food and on my body
  • Drink plenty of good clean water
  • I found a good exercise plan (this is a personal plan and it is something that works for you.  If going to the gym and lifting weights make you feel great, do it.)

Here are some of the resources that aided me in my fitness revelation:

http://www.hungryforchange.tv/

http://www.fatsickandnearlydead.com/

NaturallythinYou may have some reservations about reading a book by a RHW cast member, but she offers some really good common sense tips in this book.  Like everything in life take out of it what is beneficial to you and discard the rest.

Here is a link to the Lush Cosmetics website.  The only cosmetics that I have been able to find that show a true concern for applying only the best and natural ingredients in their products.

One thought on “Get it in Where You Can Fit It In

  1. Pingback: Your Fitness Evolution | iBourgie

Leave a Reply

