Good Stuff: Coconut Oil

coconut_oil

I first became familiar with coconut oil when I decided to stop chemically relaxing my hair.  It was one product that I found common with all of the other women who had decided to stop chemically relaxing their hair.  I decided to give it a try.  Now I can’t live without it.

I first began using coconut oil as a conditioner for my hair.  I was a bit reluctant to do so because I have very oily skin and I was afraid that adding extra oil would lead to breakouts, but I did it anyway.  I was very pleased with the results and I my skin did not break out.  Then I used it on my skin as lotion.  I absolute loved the way it was absorbed into my skin leaving it soft and glowing without a  greasy, waxy residue that some store bought lotions leave.  Then I started adding it to my smoothies.  The coconut oil gave my smoothies such a smooth and creamy texture that I had been previously using dairy products to achieve.  It is also great to cook with.  I sometimes use it in my quinoa and kale recipe and tomato soup recipe  instead of olive oil.

Here are some most of the ways I use coconut oil:

  1. As a hair conditioner.  I coat the ends of my hair (about 1/3 of the way down) with coconut oil prior to shampooing to protect against frayed ends.
  2. As a cooking oil.  Coconut oil holds up well against heat making it great to cook with.
  3. As a substitute for cream.  Coconut has a mild creamy taste that is a great alternative to dairy creams.
  4. As a body oil.  Coconut oil really absorbs into your skin and doesn’t leave a greasy residue.  You can even add some essential oils to customize the scent.

When purchasing coconut oil, look for extra virgin organic coconut oil.  Remember this will be going in and on your body.  You want it to be pure and free of anything harmful.

If you have any other uses for coconut oil feel free to share them in the comments section.

 

5 thoughts on “Good Stuff: Coconut Oil

  1. Pingback: I can’t…I’m washing my hair… | I, Stepford

  2. Pingback: Coconut Oil: Kitchen Pantry or Bathroom Vanity? | Vitamin Mom Blog

  3. Pingback: Beauty By Vivianne

  4. Pingback: THE BEAUTY BENEFITS OF COCONUT OIL - L.O.S. Beauty

Leave a Reply

