Are you really overweight?

download

I recently found out about height-to-weight ratio being more accurate that BMI.  It really made sense to me. Before I decided to change my eating habits to live a healthier life, according to my BMI, I was obese.  Even at my heaviest I didn’t look obese.  I will admit I was out of shape, but obese? No.  Then I was told to check out height-to-weight ratio.  When I did it proved that I was at a healthy weight for my height and build.  This made me feel a whole lot better, and took a lot of pressure off of me to get down to what I felt to be a healthy weight.  I still had some major changes to make, but I did not have to loose a ton of weight to be considered healthy.

51102e02078d6.preview-620

We have to use a little common sense when it concerns our health and well being.  Deep down we know what is best for us even when we choose to dismiss it.  Had I believed that I was overweight because of my BMI, I would still be trying to loose extra pounds and thinking that I was not as healthy as I was supposed to be.  There are so many healthy people who are much heavier than what is often considered a healthy weight.  There are many factors to consider, but what I would challenge all of us to do is to take an accurate assessment of  your health.  Regardless of what is on the scale, if you aren’t sick, you are doing something right.  Work on what is on the inside and the outside will naturally follow.

One thought on “Are you really overweight?

Leave a Reply

