Trying to Make an Hour out of Fifteen Minutes

time

It seems to be the most common excuse for not exercising is not having enough time.  Time is infinite.  Time is not going to run out, we all just need to manage it better.  For many years I used the same excuse.  It is amazing how an extra 15 minutes can make a huge difference.  If you just get up 15 minutes earlier or stay up 15 minutes later you can squeeze in a mini workout.  I have chosen to use the 7 minute workout in my extra time.  On thing I realized when I decided to take the journey to make positive and healthy choices is that I wasted a lot of time.  There are times when you just want to do nothing, but even that time needs to be productive.  I am not advocating a workoholic lifestyle, take an accurate assessment of the time you use throughout the day.

I assessed my time by keeping a journal.  I documented what I did and how long it took me to do it.  I documented everything (talking on the phone, checking emails, surfing the internet, daydreaming, etc.).  You may only need to do this for a day or two.  It was amazing how much time I was wasting.  After reviewing my findings, I looked over each entry and asked myself how it benefited me.  If it didn’t, I decided to replace it with something that did.  So I then began to schedule my day.  I chose to use an appointment book that was divided into 15 minute increments.  Then I scheduled everything. I didn’t treat my schedule as something I had to stick to, but it did help me see that I had a lot more time to do things than I had previously thought.  I had the extra time to just blow on mindless web surfing and window shopping.

It is amazing how when you decide to treat yourself the way you deserve to be treated so many wonderful things become available to you.  When you are running through life you miss so much.  You owe it to yourself to take the abundance of time and use it to better your life.

If you would like to try taking advantage of infinity here are some things that may help you:

  1. A journal.  You can do it on your computer or get a notebook.  If you spend a lot of time separated from your computer, I would choose a journal.  You can later enter your findings into your computer.
  2. An appointment book.  I chose one that was divided into 15 minute increments.
  3. Patience.  The most important thing of all.

Another thing I purchased were these amazing crayons.  They are by Crayola and they are the best highlighters.  I use them in my appointment books, I use them in my books to highlight and they don’t bleed through the page.  They also last forever.  In my appointment book, I use alternating colors to separate each entry so I can have a visual representation of how much time I spent in each activity.

I hope this is a useful tool for those who feel that time is against them.

2 thoughts on “Trying to Make an Hour out of Fifteen Minutes

  1. One of the reasons I joined a gym is because the act of GOING to the gym makes me feel like I have a commitment to keep. I have it marked in my work calendar every lunch that from 12 – 1, I am busy because I have an appointment with myself at the gym.

    I have also found that managing my time while at the gym has helped; I downloaded a tabata training app that times my sets and rests, it lets me know when I need to be working and when I need to be resting. I can get in a real workout in 1/2 hour or a super workout in 45 minutes, because there isn’t any time wasted with unnecessary rest periods or meandering through the equipment, hmmming and hawing over what I feel like doing. I go in with a plan; I set my tabata trainer; and I leave feeling like I did great work.

    Thanks for the post–those are some great tips.

Leave a Reply

