What’s Appropriate?: If I Makes You Happy, It Can’t Be That Bad

Self-Expression

There are times when you question what’s appropriate.  The way we dress, act, and everything else is sometimes based on what we feel is appropriate.  We sometimes go against what we love and desire to fit into some predetermined guidelines.   I personally feel like personal happiness should play a major role in your decision making.

My seven-year-old son wanted to wear flip-flops, a polo shirt, jeans, and a tie to go out to eat.  At first I thought that my cute little boy would look strange in this getup.  After considering the time and effort he had put into planning the outfit and actually tying the tie himself, I let him wear it.  I let him wear it because it made him happy.  My decision was confirmed by the multitude of compliments he received at the restaurant.  He got so much attention for his little ensemble.  He was so pleased with himself.  I also bragged to the diners that he had also tied the tie himself and they were even more impressed.  My son had the biggest smile on his face.  I even got a few compliments for allowing him express himself.

Now there are times when you have to look out for your best interests.  I wouldn’t have allowed my son to wear flip-flops on a cold and rainy night, but I had no problem with his outfit as long as it didn’t harm him or anyone else.  The fact that it made him so happy was an added bonus.  We did get a few looks from some people, but my son’s main concern was that he was wearing what he wanted.

I would like to challenge all of us to do something that makes you happy regardless of how inappropriate it may be considered to be.  As long as you are not hurting yourself or anyone else, it is appropriate.

Fyodor Dostoyevsky

“To go wrong in one’s own way is better then to go right in someone else’s.”
― Fyodor DostoyevskyCrime and Punishment
Martha Graham

“There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and will be lost.”
― Martha Graham
Anthon St. Maarten

“We are not supposed to all be the same, feel the same, think the same, and believe the same. The key to continued expansion of our Universe lies in diversity, not in conformity and coercion. Conventionality is the death of creation.”
― Anthon St. MaartenDivine Living: The Essential Guide To Your True Destiny
Leave a Reply

