Write on Wednesday #3

Today’s Writing Prompt:  Write in a genre you dislike.

book-genre

I have been in writers’ groups and workshops where I had to read work from other authors in genres I disliked.  I always felt that I didn’t have much to offer in any discussion that followed.  I wanted to be able to add to the discussion so I forced myself to read books in genres that I usually would run from.   Some were surprisingly pleasurable and some were downright painful, but I have made it a point to always finish a book that I start.  Then I went a step further and wrote short stories in those genres.  I had no intention of letting anyone else see them, but what I found helpful was learning how writers in these genres crafted their characters and stories.  I learned a lot from them and it was also helpful in some of the characters and  stories in my own writing.  Giving these genres a chance gave me the opportunity to add a little extra to my characters.  Now I can write about a tech geek, lonely housewife, or a hypersensitive police detective  a little more authentically.

2 thoughts on “Write on Wednesday #3

  1. Its like you read my mind! You appear to know a lot about
    this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you
    can do with some pics to drive the message home a little bit, but instead of that,
    this is fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

  2. I was excited to uncover this page. I need to to thank you for
    your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely appreciated every little bit of
    it and i also have you saved as a favorite to look at new things in your site.

Leave a Reply

