Give Yourself a Break

There are so many things that we feel like we have to do.   We make commitments that we sometimes feel obligated to keep even when it is a strain on our personal time.  We feel pressure to do what is expected of us when in reality we are the only ones who is upset when we can’t hold up the burden of everyday life.  So today give yourself a break.  It is not going to make you a bad person.  It will give you the time to recharge.

For many years I wondered why I was the person everyone seemed to call when they needed something.  It was because I never turned them down.  I would put everything I needed to do on hold to do for everyone else.  I became resentful because I felt that everyone was taking advantage of me, but in reality, I was letting them.  Once I realized this, I began to politely declining or just saying no.  Saying no and declining countless hours of volunteering my time and energy in things that were taking away from my valuable personal time was very hard, but eventually I got used to it.  After a while everyone else did too.  Now I am able to pick and choose when and if I want to take time away from myself to do for others.

What I would like to challenge all of us to do is to teach those around you that your time is valuable and that it is your job to choose when you plan to share it.  Do not feel guilty for this.  You are a priority.  If you aren’t taken care of you can not be an asset to anyone else.

Leave a Reply

