Is Eating Healthy Making You an Oddball?

clean-eating-not-diet

I pack my son’s lunch for school.  When he started kindergarten and I became acquainted with some of the other students’ mothers, I got several questions about my son’s eating habits.  Many of them wanted to know if there was a reason for such a healthy lunch and if he had some sort of digestive problem.  What was really perplexing to them was my son’s declination of candy and other sugary snacks.  I simply told them the reason for my son’s healthy choices was preventative so he would not develop any problems in the future.  I could not believe the comments I received after.  Some of the mothers said that although it was fine that I was giving my son healthy food, I should also allow him to be a kid.  Some felt that I was depriving my son of something just because was not given food that is known to be harmful.  Of course I didn’t care and neither did my son.  My son loves food – real food.  I made a decision early on that I did not want to get him accustomed to eating junk.  I also did not want my son to feel like an outsider for being healthy.  So I had to make another decision and that was to find other moms like me.

The wonderful thing about finding healthy people is that they are very easy to spot.  They are best looking with the clearest complexions and shiniest and healthiest hair.  I began striking up conversations with these people and sharing my experiences with them.  Then I began to develop a community of people that understood my family’s health decisions and did not see our lifestyle as one of deprivation.

What I would like to challenge all of us to do is to place yourself in the company of those who understand and appreciate your choices.  Making positive decisions in your life can be difficult.  Not everyone has come to a point in their lives where health is a priority.  Sometimes, in an attempt to justify their choices, they will try to make what you are doing seem unnatural.  All we have to do is look at the evidence of our healthy lifestyle and its benefits.  Just tune them out and surround yourselves with those who support and encourage you.  We hope that the rest of those in the world will realizes that we all reap what we sow, but until then we can’t let negative comments and judgments pressure us into fitting in with a group.  Find a new group or create your own.

One thought on “Is Eating Healthy Making You an Oddball?

Leave a Reply

