Hooked on a Feeling

Captain-Hook-and-Tinkerbell-peter-pan-6497219-464-352

I recently had an amazing conversation with my favorite uncle.  He is in his early sixties, but you would never guess it.  He is in extraordinary shape and lives a very healthy lifestyle.  The conversation we had was about how his peers believe he has some unattainable ability to get up every morning and exercise, eat only good food, and take such amazing care of himself.  He said he was so tired of hearing how people would say things like “I wish I could get up at 5 in the morning to go running.  I just don’t feel like doing that.  I just don’t feel like watching everything I eat”.  Then he told me that when he gets up in the early in the mornings it may be cold, or hot, or raining, and oftentimes he does not feel like it either, but he does it anyway.  He then went on to say that if he let fleeting feelings dictate his life he would be out of shape and miserable.  He told me that the feeling of not wanting to get up and workout disappears the moment he steps into the gym, or on the track, etc. and he feels great afterwards.  He is rewarded by a much greater feeling by pushing through a temporary negative one.

How many times have you let a feeling prevent you from doing what you knew was going to help you?  Have you created a multitude of weak excuses not to take care of yourself?  Have you convinced yourself that by indulging your feelings it is okay to slip into an unhealthy lifestyle?  I would like to encourage all of us to stop doing that.

There have been so many times I have started  fitness routine and just one day I wouldn’t feel like doing the exercise or I wanted just one unhealthy food, and those feelings began to accumulate and all of the progress I had previously made would quickly slip away.  Then I was left feeling terrible for giving in to those feelings.  I have learned to push through those fleeting feelings to stay on track.  The rewards have been tremendous.

This does not only apply to physical fitness, it also applies to overall fitness.  We can take this same tool and use it in every aspect of our lives.  Sometimes it means stepping outside of our comfort zones to accomplish a goal.  A small moment of discomfort is quickly forgotten when you are reaping the rewards of your perseverance.  I had often used my introversion as an excuse for passing up on things I wanted.    I have learned to use my introversion as an advantage.  I no longer sit on the sidelines and hope for my goals to reach fruition.  There were times I had to step outside of my comfort zone, but it was worth it.

My challenge to all of us is to not get hooked on a feeling.  Don’t let a small moment in time affect your success.

One thought on “Hooked on a Feeling

  1. Pingback: Reaping the Benefits | iBourgie

Leave a Reply

