Embracing Vulnerability

IMG_0059

I believe that when most people think of vulnerability they think of weakness.  I have recently learned that vulnerability is the single thing that can open the doors to so many rewarding possibilities in life.  Can you truly love someone if they are afraid to be vulnerable?  Can you truly be loved if you close of parts of yourself?  By holding back we are blocking our blessings.

I worked with someone who was a habitual liar.  This person lied about big things and small things.  It was truly heartbreaking because this person had such a desire to belong and to be liked, but he was doing himself a disservice.  There was absolutely no chance of anyone getting to know and appreciate him as a person because of his need to hide behind deception.  Ultimately, this person lost his job over something he lied about.  The mistake he made would not have gotten him fired, but the fact that he lied about it did.  Had this person admitted his mistake, he would have gotten help, learned from his mistake, and possibly improved on his overall work performance.  Not only that, he would have established some respect from his fellow workers.

In the past I have been afraid to be vulnerable.  I was often told my many of my acquaintances how I initially seemed unapproachable.  It wasn’t until they got to know me that they began to like me.  I had no idea why anyone would have that perception of me.  I later realized it wasn’t until I was comfortable that I allowed  my guard to come down.  I was not fully appreciated until I was vulnerable.

Vulnerability is power.  When you let go of the fear of exposure and embrace everything about you wonderful things will happen.  It is such a liberating experience.  Imagine having to hide nothing.  Accepting yourself and whatever you may perceive as flaws is true love and you should accept nothing less for yourself.

I would like to challenge all of us to take a good look at ourselves and ask ourselves if there is anything about us that we feel is in any way shameful or embarrassing and own it.  We may want to change it, but it is still a part of us. Until we can make those changes we are still a valuable asset to society.   We need to love ourselves in order to be loved in the way we deserve.   Remember that we are all works in progress, but in order to progress we may need to tear down some walls and allow a little light to shine in.

Paulo Coelho

“The strongest love is the love that can demonstrate its fragility.”
― Paulo CoelhoEleven Minutes
Criss Jami

“To share your weakness is to make yourself vulnerable; to make yourself vulnerable is to show your strength.”
― Criss Jami
2 thoughts on “Embracing Vulnerability

  1. Pingback: Be Yourself | Your Favorite Milk

  2. Pingback: Connecting Through Vulnerability | iBourgie

Leave a Reply

