R&R – Replenish and Renew

stethescope-with-apple_61319875

Growing up Christian Scientist, I have always looked to natural and/or spiritual solutions for any health problem.  Fortunately, all of my health problems have been minor and short-lived, but there were issues nonetheless.  Aside from my religious beliefs, I have always remained conscious about what goes in and on my body.  It has always been my understanding that any health problem I may have is a result of something in my body that needs to be repaired or replenished.  So, it is logical that there is nothing artificial that can replenish or repair my body.

I have been a long-time believer in natural healing.   I only seek natural/spiritual cures for anything that threatens my physical and mental well-being.  I have often been questioned about my methods effectiveness.  My answer has always been that my goal is to prevent the problem from happening as much as possible by taking care of yourself as a whole.  I focus on not only my body, but also my mind.  I feel that it is important to replenish and repair your body with what my body is lacking and not bombarding it with artificial chemicals and pollutants.

Here is a list of some of the things I do to stay healthy:

  • Meditate  Quieting the mind allows you to open yourself to many of the answers you seek in life.
  • Eat whole food  I make a conscious effort to eat what is natural and what I can consume without processing.  I steer clear of processed and refined sugars.  I do this by eating things that closely resemble how you would find them in nature.  For example, I can’t find pasta growing on trees or planted in the ground so I have chosen to delete it from my diet (this also includes bread)
  • Journal  I keep a daily journal.  The journal helps me identify any changes to my lifestyle that may have influenced my health.  By keeping a journal I can pinpoint when a problem started and what was going on that may have caused it.  I could have been a food I ate or an upsetting incident, etc.
  • Exercise  I try to exercise at least 30 minutes a day.  I usually exercise more, but I make it mandatory for me to exercise at least 30 minutes each day.
  • Find something you enjoy  It could be listening to music, daydreaming, or reading a book.  The main thing is to make it happen at least for part of your day.  We need to put something in our everyday lives that uplifts us and makes us happy.

This is my list.  I would like to encourage all of us to come up with a plan for a healthy life.  Your list may be different from mine as we all have different needs, but the best way to start is to identify those needs.

2 thoughts on “R&R – Replenish and Renew

Leave a Reply

