Silky Soft Skin

allergy

I was recently at a function and I did a lot of handshaking.  One woman reached for my hand as she introduced herself and as she withdrew it she mention how my hands were unusually soft.  I have been told so on numerous occasions.  One of my friends once touched my hand and quickly withdrew her hand from mine.  She said that my hand was so soft that it didn’t feel natural.  I’m not sure how to take that, but that was the only fearful reaction I have ever encountered.  I have always been asked what my secret was to baby soft skin.  It is very simple.

howtogreencleaners

I do all of the things that most people do.  I was dishes, I garden, I clean my house from top to bottom, and I even get on my hands and knees and clean the floors. One thing that most people find surprising is that I don’t use glove while I do any of the aforementioned things.  The only exception is when I am gardening, and I only use gloves when I am at risk of being injured by thorns and other prickly things.  One of the reasons I don’t feel the need to use gloves is that I use all natural, nontoxic cleaning solutions.  By not using toxic chemicals to clean my home, I am saving my skin from damage.  I also do other things that I feel keep my skin silky soft.

IBourgie’s Secret to Silky Soft Skin

  1. Don’t use harsh chemicals.  Many of the the things I used to clean my home are also edible.  After cleaning my home it usually smells like a Greek salad.  I am fine with that, but sometimes I use natural essential oils if I want a particular scent.
  2. Keep it cool.  No one loves a hot shower more than I do, but hot water can be drying to your skin.  I like to end my shower with a cool shot of water for a few seconds.  I used to take scalding hot showers, but not the water is just warm enough to keep me from shivering.
  3. Drip dry.  I hardly ever use a towel to dry off after a shower.  I only use a towel if I am in a hurry.  I step out of the shower and just hang out for a few minutes while I do my hair or sing Journey songs in the mirror.  Then I am on to #4.
  4. Moisturize!  I can not emphasize this enough.  I use a natural oil after I shower to lock in the moisture.  My favorite is coconut oil.  I’ve found it to be very light and not greasy.  It also absorbs into the skin rather quickly.  If you have some really dry areas, I would recommend a butter like shea, mango, etc.  I use shea butter on my feet, elbows, and knees.
  5. Exfoliate (gently). Sometimes you need to get rid of the old, dry, dead skin that is hiding the new and fresh skin underneath, but don’t overdo it.  Use a gentle means to exfoliate.  You do not have to scrub vigorously to exfoliate.  I use a sugar and honey scrub to slough away dead skin because the sugar dissolves preventing you from over scrubbing.
  6. Hydrate. Drink plenty of water.  I don’t think I need to explain the benefits of drinking enough water, but it is very important for you insides as much as it is for your outside.

The most important thing is to love the skin you’re in and all that is housed within it.  If you genuinely care for yourself, you will do all you can to preserve your health and well-being.  If loving yourself is at the top of your list then all things will fall into place, including silky soft skin.

Leave a Reply

