Introvert Sanction

introvert2

As the years roll by, I am getting more and more comfortable with myself.  I am loving myself more.  I am allowing myself to be vulnerable enough for others to love me the way I want to be loved.  I am no longer making apologies for the way I am.  I have fallen in love with myself and all of my eccentricities.  One of the things about me I have embraced is my introversion.  I no longer refer to myself as weird or strange, I am an introvert and I love it.  Loving my introversion does not automatically make other people understand it.  In a previous post I asked the question of other introverts if we should explain ourselves and our behavior to others.  No we don’t, but we owe it to ourselves to not be ashamed it.

As introverts we are often labeled as arrogant, snobby, antisocial, and selfish only because we need to spend time alone.  Sometimes were are labeled as such because we feel the need to hide or disguise our behavior by sneaking away or constantly apologizing for not wanted to spend a large amount of time in the company of others.  We don’t have to do that.  I am giving all of us Introvert Sanction. We have to own our introversion by authoritatively taking that time for ourselves.  I liken it to when I was breastfeeding.  If I has my son with me, all of my friends and family knew that possibly a bare breast would appear.  I felt no need to apologize for it or explain why it was happening and everyone learned to accept it.  The same goes for introversion.

We as introverts do not have to explain ourselves.  We have to teach others by allowing them to see us as we are: reflective, careful, thoughtful, introspective, and understanding.  All of these qualities are wonderful and we would be robbing the world of all of the value of our introversion if we do not fully embrace it.

“In an extroverted society, the difference between an introvert and an extrovert is that an introvert is often unconsciously deemed guilty until proven innocent.”

~ Criss Jami

Leave a Reply

