Write on Wednesday #36

poetry-in-garden-web11

Writing Prompt:  Write a poem.

When I was a preteen, I wrote poetry all the time.  Some of it was good and some of it was not so good.  When I was in the 7th grade, I won a poetry contest.  Shortly after, it stopped writing poetry.  I believe I stopped because I was getting closer to deciding about college and possible career paths and, was constantly discouraged from pursuing a writing career.  It was not until my final year of college, I had an assignment to write a poem for my creative writing class.  My that poem was chosen by my professor to be included in that year’s Southern Literary Festival.

I believe all writers have a poem inside them.  Use this writing prompt to get it out.

Leave a Reply

